SAP Award Winners

Each year at the Academy of Management Annual Meeting, some outstanding scholars receive one of the following SAP awards for their submission to SAP Interest Group:

  • Best Paper Award
  • Best Student Paper Award
  • The SAP Pushing the Boundary Award

Historical SAP Award Winners

2016, Anaheim

  • Best Paper Award: “CEO sensegiving and legitimacy projection across multiple strategic change episodes” by Eric Knight  (University of Sydney) and Matthew Grimes (Indiana University)
  • Best Student Paper Award: “Identity in the Making: how Organisation Identity Change is Facilitated in a Business Unit Merger​” by Julia Balogun (University of Liverpool) and Lisa Day (London Metropolitan University)
  • SAP Pushing the Boundary Award: “Is this a worthy strategy? Critique, justification and evaluation in the practice of strategy” by Charlotte Cloutier (HEC Montreal) and Jean-Pascal Gond (CASS Business School)

2015, Vancouver

  • Best Paper Award: ““Towards a Social-Practice Theory of Competition” by Paula Jarzabkowski  (City University London) and Rebecca Bednarek (Birkbeck)
  • Best Student Paper Award: “Over the Top of the Hill: Sensemaking and the Role of Meetings in Sustaining Strategic Change” by Lisa Day (London Metropolitan University), Julia Balogun and Michael Mayer (both Bath University)
  • Best Practice-oriented Paper: “New CEOs in Turnaround Situations: What to Do or Not to Do in their First Year” by Chanchai Tangpong, Derek Lehmberg, Zonghui Li (all North Dakota State University)